Top Level Structure of XHTML 1.0 Documents


What is the Top Level Structure of an XHTML 1.0 Document?



The top level structure of a XHTML 1.0 document consists of three parts:

  • XML processing instruction - Provides XML version information and character set declaration.
  • Document type declaration - Provides the document type and version information, as well as the URI referring to the DTD that matches the type and version.
  • HTML element - Provides the contents of the XHTML document. The HTML element is defined with the "html" tag.

The following tutorial sample shows you how the XHTML top level structure looks like:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
 (Second level structure)


⇒Introduction of XHTML 1.0

⇒⇒HTML Tutorials

2017-02-20, 942👍, 0💬